According to MajaStevanovich

News and views on what matters to me: mindfulness, leadership, public relations, marketing, social media, pop culture and every now and then I will surprise you with something else.

Facebook Vanity URL-Does It Really Matter?

Good ole’ facebook is finally catching up to the rest of the social media universe and offering vanity URL’s (www.facebook.com/username). It is about time that facebook allows us users to claim a little piece of it. If you are a social media junkie, you see this as a nice way to continue claiming a little space of the social media pie for yourself, but is it really that big of a deal?

Blogs and articles all over the internet are predicting people, (well facebook nerds) will be huddled around their computers Saturday at 12:01am eastern time claiming their usernames. Although I love facebook very much, I won’t be one of those people. Not because I don’t care necessarily, but this is one of those times where having a “unique” name helps.

Even if my name was Jane Smith I don’t know if I would be lined up for this change. Reason being, with Twitter and Linkedin it is important to have a vanity URL because those sites actually provide information upon someone clicking on them. Whereas facebook is a protected community and if someone clicks on your vanity URL all they will really get is your picture. Sure, it will be easier to find and friend people but, in my opinion, it is not that essential to have a facebook vanity URL.

With that being said, I think it is about time facebook got on the same bandwagon as everyone else. Lately, so many social media outlets are copying themselves that they are almost (but not quite) having the same functionalities. If you read my personal branding blog, you know that I am a firm believer in understanding what each service does and WHY you should be on it. Although in essence they all have very different purposes it is interesting to see that they are all taking features from each other and trying to be like one another.

I hope you get the Facebook Vanity of your choice. Keep me posted on your journeys.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 12, 2009 by in Maja's Corner of Randomness, Social Media and tagged , , .
