According to MajaStevanovich

News and views on what matters to me: mindfulness, leadership, public relations, marketing, social media, pop culture and every now and then I will surprise you with something else.

Mentoring Matters

I wanted to write this post because I think it is really important to recognize the people that have helped us get to where we are. During both my education and my professional career I’ve had so many individuals make a really big impact on me. I can say in confidence that I can credit my mentors and advisors to the success I’ve had so far. I’ve come to realize that a little encouragement goes a long way. Everyone needs someone to believe in them, and just that act alone can make all the difference. Knowing that someone else believes in your dream or vision is a very empowering feeling.

We all have such busy schedules that just a thought of advising or mentoring another person seems like another time commitment that we don’t know if we want to get involved in. Although it is a time commitment, I hope that is not what would scare anyone away. I believe it is rewarding for mentors to see their mentees grow and develop and also pay it forward by helping someone else.

In writing this post it is my hope that you will think back to all the people in your life that have helped you get to where you are. Sometimes, it is one advice or someone willing to listen to you that could have made a profound impact. I think the more successful you are the more people you have knocking on your door asking for advice or a piece of your wisdom. Perhaps there is not enough time in the day to answer everyone, but I do hope that you keep a tally and do respond to the ones that have made that special connection.

I’ve been lucky to have mentors since I moved to the United States when I was 11, I continue to have them today and I think I will have them for the rest of my life. I have tried to be open to others and help them in any way that I can, because it does work both ways. Thank you everyone out there that takes the time to encourage and help someone else out, it is making a bigger difference than you know.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 18, 2009 by in Maja's Corner of Randomness and tagged , , .
