According to MajaStevanovich

News and views on what matters to me: mindfulness, leadership, public relations, marketing, social media, pop culture and every now and then I will surprise you with something else.

Why New Users Leave Twitter

I read an interesting article that talks about why new users leave Twitter. I found it fascinating and wanted to share some of the key points.

Users Never Learned How to User Twitter Effectively—I find this to be very true. From my own experience I was resilient to not sign up for the service until about two months ago because I thought it was merely a place where people post updates about their lives. I have facebook, do I really need another outlet for this? Soon enough I discovered that twitter is so much more than that, it is a place where you are open to comment or get in on any conversation and if what you say is interesting or compelling people or should I say tweeple will acknowledge that. For the same reasons people leave associations, online communities, chambers and other groups this also translates to twitter. If you don’t know how to use a tool properly you don’t get as much out of it and don’t see all the use or fun from it.

Users Enter the “room” and Can’t Find Anyone to Talk to—I think this may be the second biggest reason. Users don’t know how to find the right people to follow or talk to. It is all about finding people that post content that is interesting to the user and finding likeminded people to share ideas and conversations with. This happens at actual events as well, where you attend an event, yet somehow don’t find the “right” people that you should be connecting with, you stay there for a while and leave as soon as you can because you don’t get all the value from it.

Users Fall in With the “Wrong Crowd” –This happens to be one of my favorites. There are lots of celebrities and multi-level marketers on twitter and as fun as they are to follow, they may leave you empty inside. These users tend to only broadcast and not interact, leaving the user lonely in a crowded room and hearing nothing of substance. There is also this problem called spammers, which if a new user gets caught up with both of these groups they see no value and end up not sticking around.

Users Don’t Take the Time and Expect Immediate Gratification—So I signed up for Twitter, now what? All this hype and I am totally not seeing it. Those are the common reaction from users that don’t take the time to observe twitterverse and see how others are using Twitter effectively. Like with anything, Twitter takes time. From building the “right” networking to learning the lingo and how to use the tool you may not see what all the hype is the first day, maybe not even the first week or a month. Once you figure it out, it is totally worth it. I think the reason some certain people tweet often and love the tool is because they have actually figured it out.

Twitter is not for everyone, but I do think it is a very useful platform for sharing information, meeting new likeminded people and networking.

One comment on “Why New Users Leave Twitter

  1. Rick Rice
    June 24, 2009

    Maja,
    I like your summary of things that make it not work. I had plenty of reservations about being on there but lucked into finding the right combination of people and organizations to follow. And as you know, I’m now hooked.
    You’re blog is going great! Congratulations. I’m buried in a new project so that’s on hold for me again but still on the to do list.
    Have a great day!
    Rick @RTRViews

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 24, 2009 by in Social Media and tagged , , .
